Double point ?! The Seattle Seahawks’ Michael Dickson pulls it off against the Los Angeles Rams

SEATTLE – Who said punters are not athletes?

Michael Dickson made one of the most even games you will see from a specialist as he scooped a blocked punt and re-punted the ball, saving the Seattle Seahawks from being backed up near their own end zone.

Dickson’s blow was blocked by Jamir Jones. As the ball spun upright on the grass, Dickson scooped it with one hand, in stride, hitting it for the second time – 68 yards to the Rams ’11.

And even though the TV advertisers were initially confused about the rule, the play turned out to be legal.

From the NFL Rulebook:

“Another kick behind the back line is legal, provided the ball has not crossed the line.”

And the ball did not cross the line outside the block.


Leave a Comment