No free-to-air broadcast for Australia’s World Cup races

Australia’s bid for a virgin T20 World Cup title for men will only be shown on subscription broadcast services for fans at home, with no free broadcast of the tournament starting next weekend in the Middle East.

This is the first time the Australian men’s team is playing an ICC World Cup match solely behind a payment wall since the 2010 World T20 event in the Caribbean.

Foxtel and Kayo Sports will broadcast each of the tournament’s 45 matches, starting with the group stage between Oman and Papua New Guinea on October 17, to the final on November 14.

Australia-based fans who want to see Aaron Finch’s team play five Super 12 matches before any potential final matches have to sign up for one of the two paid services.

Kayo offers a 14-day free trial for new subscribers. Australia’s five Super 12 matches fall in a 15-day window between October 23 and November 6.

Three of Australia’s matches – against South Africa, the Caribbean and one qualifier – start at 21.00 AEDT, while two other matches – against England and another qualifier – are played at 01.00 AEDT.

Nine had lined up to show Australia’s matches, finals and select other matches from the T20 World Cup, which was scheduled to be held in Australia 12 months ago, but with this event postponed to 2022, the network confirmed it would not broadcast this year’s tournament and no other network has taken up the rights.

“This tournament did not exist when we reached our current agreement, therefore it is not part of the current agreement,” a Nine spokesman told in a statement.

The 2020 T20 World Cup has ‘existed’ since it was announced by the ICC in April 2018 as a replacement for the Champions Trophy 50-over tournament.

Australia’s anti-siphon list – designed to ensure that events of major cultural interest are broadcast live for free – includes the T20 World Cup, but only matches played in Australia and New Zealand.

Nine and Foxtel have been in a joint venture to share rights to ICC events since 2008 and have joined forces to buy the Australian broadcasting rights from the governing body’s global broadcast partner, India’s Star Sports. Cricket Australia has no say in broadcasting rights to ICC events.

Under the arrangement, to satisfy the requirements for siphoning, Nine and Foxtel would share rights to the ODI and T20 World Cups, while Foxtel had exclusive rights to the Champions Trophy tournaments.

The ICC then switched the 2010 Champions Trophy to a T20 World Cup, and Foxtel retained exclusive rights to that tournament.

Nine and Foxtel renewed their deal with Star in 2012, which ran until the end of the 2015 ODI World Cup on Australian soil and entered into a new deal in 2016 on the eve of this year’s T20 World Cup for men, the last time this tournament was held.

Recently, Nine broadcast 13 of the 23 matches from the T20 World Cup for women played in Australia in early 2020, screening Australia’s matches and the final of the 2019 ODI World Cup for men in England.

Champions, again! Aussie makes history at home

Foxtel’s current deal with Star runs until the end of the 2023 ODI World Cup, which is scheduled to take place in October and November of the same year in India, although it is still unclear whether Nine will continue to be the free-to-air TV broadcaster in future events.

Asked about the details of the “current agreement” it has with Foxtel, a nine spokesman would only say: “With ongoing discussions, we are not in a position to answer these questions at this time.”

Foxtel – and Kayo – will therefore screen the 2022 Women’s ODI World Cup in New Zealand, which will be played in New Zealand next February and March, and the Men’s T20 World Cup, which will be played in Australia in 12 months.

Both of these events would meet the criteria for Australia’s anti-siphoning list – officially known as the Broadcasting Services (Events) message – and risk no free broadcast, though the time zone shift is likely to be more attractive to local networks.

The anti-siphon list does not stipulate that events on it must be broadcast on free-to-TV, only that a free-to-air TV station has the right to enter into negotiations.

“The list of anti-siphon gives free-to-air TV stations the first right to negotiate,” said former Federal Communications Minister Mitch Fifield in 2018 when CA’s last domestic TV rights deal was signed.

“It does not prescribe that free-to-air broadcasters must buy events. It does not prescribe that if they buy, that they must show them. And it does not oblige that if they buy events that they can not sell them then to other platforms.

“What it does do is give them the first opportunity and make it more likely that these events will be on free-to-air television.”

The anti-siphon scheme, which started in 1992, was extended earlier in the year to April 2023, and the current Minister of Communications, Paul Fletcher, has indicated that it will be reviewed as part of broader TV regulatory reforms before then.

Australia’s men’s T20 team was last seen on a free-to-air broadcast in June 2018. The team has since played 45 matches, 13 of them at home, available exclusively to Foxtel and Kayo subscribers (apart from a non-televised match against the UAE). and the most recent trip in Bangladesh).

Australia’s matches at the 2019 World Cup are their only ODIs to have seen free TV coverage since mid-2018.

2020 World Cup for men in T20

Australian squad

Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins (vc), Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, Mitchell Swepson, Matthew Wade, David Warner, Adam Zampa . Travel Reserves: Dan Christian, Nathan Ellis, Daniel Sams

Australia’s matches

Oct 23 v South Africa in Abu Dhabi (14.00 local time, 21.00 AEDT)

Oct 28 v Qualifier A1 in Dubai (18:00 local time, 01:00 29 October AEDT)

Oct 30 v England in Dubai (18:00 local time, 01:00 31 October AEDT)

Nov 4 v Qualifier B2 in Dubai (14.00 local time, 21.00 AEDT)

Nov 6 v Caribbean in Abu Dhabi (14.00 local time, 21.00 AEDT)



How the teams are grouped

Round 1

Group A: Sri Lanka, Ireland, Holland, Namibia

Group B: Bangladesh, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, Oman

Super 12s

Group 1: England, Australia, South Africa, Caribbean, A1, B2

Group 2: India, Pakistan, New Zealand, Afghanistan, B1, A2

Sign up for BKT Big Bash Tipping this season at! Go for the grand prize, or join a league and welcome your friends, family and colleagues.

Leave a Comment