Sat. May 21st, 2022

Australian striker Sam Kerr has been shortlisted for the most prestigious award in world football, being named one of the 20 candidates for the Ballon d’Or.

The annual price from France football has been awarded to male football players since 1956 and was first given to female players in 2018.

Norwegian star Ada Hegerberg won the inauguration award before American Megan Rapinoe claimed the award in 2019. It was not awarded last year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Kerr finished the 2020/21 campaign as Chelsea’s top scorer with 28 goals in all competitions, reached the semi-finals of the Olympics with Australia and leads the team into historic friendly matches against the United States later this month.

Kerr’s Chelsea teammates Magdalena Eriksson, Jessie Fleming, Pernille Harder and Fran Kirby were also among the 20 finalists.

Her fellow blues performers Cesar Azpilicueta, Jorginho, N’Golo Kante, Romelu Lukaku and Mason Mount were among the 30 names on the men’s shortlist.

READ MORE: Australia sets new record in World Cup qualifiers with victory over Oman

READ MORE: The Stormboard ‘seriously considered raising’ Cameron Munster

Only Real Madrid midfielder Luka Modric was able to break the duopoly of Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi in the last decade and won the award in 2018. Between 2008 and 2019, Messi claimed six of the remaining 11 awards, with Ronaldo receiving the other five.

Both are of course shortlisted again this year.

Women’s list: Stina Blackstenius, Kadidiatou Diani, Christiane Endler, Magdalena Eriksson, Jessie Fleming, Pernille Harder, Jennifer Hermoso, Marie-Antoinette Katoto, Sam Kerr, Fran Kirby, Ashley Lawrence, Lieke Martens, Vivianne Miedema, Samantha Mewis, Sandra Panos, Irene Paredes, Alexia Putellas, Wendie Renard, Christine Sinclair, Ellen White.

Men’s shortlist: Cesar Azpilicueta, Nicolo Barella, Karim Benzema, Leonardo Bonucci, Kevin de Bruyne, Giorgio Chiellini, Ruben Dias, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Bruno Fernandes, Phil Foden, Erling Haaland, Jorginho, Harry Kane, N’Golo Kante, Simon Kjaer, Robert Lewandowski, Romelu Lukaku, Riyad Mahrez, Lautaro Martinez, Kylian Mbappe, Lionel Messi, Luka Modric, Gerard Moreno, Mason Mount, Neymar, Pedri, Cristiano Ronaldo, Mohamed Salah, Raheem Sterling, Luis Suarez.

For a daily dose of the best news and exclusive content from Wide World of Sports, sign up for our newsletter per. click here!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.