Wed. Aug 10th, 2022

McGrath ending as Aussies win thriller

Australia has survived a huge scare from India to claim an exciting four-wicket victory in the second CommBank T20I on the Gold Coast, giving the hosts victory in this multi-format series with a match to spare.

After India won the third ODI in Mackay, then both the drawn one-off test and the washed-out first T20I dominated at Metricon Stadium, so the distance between the sides quickly seemed to be closed.

But a disastrous performance with bats saved only by some spectacular late blows from Pooja Vastrakar left Harmanpreet Kaurs side with the unwelcome task of defending their total of 9-118 against the world champions.

Ice Cold McGrath guides the Aussies to win

As has been the case throughout this series, however, India battled to the bitter end and Australia came home with just five balls to the rescue thanks to an unbeaten 42 from South Australia Tahlia McGrath who has enjoyed a breakout series with bats.

In her second game back from injury, tempo ace Tayla Vlaeminck made the early injury after Meg Lanning again won the throw and chose to bowl and rejected both India openers and it was only in the fifth inning that the visitors found the boundary via on each other the following fours behind the square from Harmanpreet Kaur.

In the next over, Sophie Molineux removed Jemimah Rodrigues and it was left to Captain Kaur to try to put India back on track. In short, it looked like she might be doing exactly that when the right hand hit Ellyse Perry in three fours in four deliveries to threaten a counter.

Wareham, Healy combine to remove Harmanpreet

A cunning bowling change from Lanning to introduce Georgia Wareham then paid dividends as Kaur advanced to the leg spinner and was stumped by Alyssa Healy.

From there, the Indians stumbled to 9-81 after 17 overs, and the match seemed to follow a predictable one-sided path.

India batters ran each other in catastrophic races

But Pooja Vastrakar (37no) had other ideas. After narrowly beating striker Deepti Sharma to the end of the non-striker to survive a disastrous mix, Vastrakar flew off and struck 30 from the last three overs to once again keep India in contention in this series.

After not being seen in the series until tonight, Shikha Pandey then produced a delivery that will be hard to beat for the best of the summer; what appeared to be an innocent ball at a length outside the stump, so deviated evil to slot an unsuspecting Healy.

Just as her counterpart had done, Lanning (15) then interrupted the case, the classic right-handed, as she shared a sensible stand of 31 races with Beth Mooney.

Summer ball? Pandey’s crazy in-swinger bowls Healy

But when left-arm finger spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad tempted Lanning down the pitch and got the Australian caught behind, the match took another convincing twist.

Over the course of nine balls, middle-order pair Ashleigh Gardner and Perry came and went, and the world champions suddenly found themselves 4-46 in the 10th inning — still 73 runs in operation of their goal.

It was then that the well-known pairing of Mooney (34) and Tahlia McGrath went together, just as they had done 15 nights earlier in a memorable ODI race hunt in Mackay.

McGrath had an early life when she came behind a diving Richa Ghosh who could not hold a difficult chance, and just as Mooney looked like she could play the full role for the second time in the series, left-handed Gayakwad’s second victim ran down wicket and lacked an attempt to pull through the midwicket for easy getting stumped.

In her maiden T20I innings, second-player McGrath found crucial boundaries on both sides of the wicket, and after Nicola Carey was stumped in seven, it was Wareham who proved to be the perfect foil and collected two fours to put Australia ahead. for touch distance.

From there, McGrath took center, the right hand smashed an even drive to four and then another through cover before collecting the final single from the first ball in the final to seal the match and thus the series.

Australia XI: Alyssa Healy (wk), Beth Mooney, Meg Lanning (c), Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Tahlia McGrath, Nicola Carey, Sophie Molineux, Georgia Wareham, Hannah Darlington, Tayla Vlaeminck

India XIShafali Verma, Smriti Mandhana, Jemimah Rodrigues, Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Yastika Bhatia, Richa Ghosh (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Deepti Sharma, Shikha Pandey, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Renuka Singh

CommBank Series v India

Australia leads India 9-5 on points

Australian squad: Meg Lanning (c), Darcie Brown, Maitlan Brown, Stella Campbell, Nicola Carey, Hannah Darlington, Ashleigh Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Tahlia McGrath, Sophie Molineux, Beth Mooney, Ellyse Perry, Georgia Redmayne, Molly Strano, Annabel Sutherland, Tayla Vlaeminck , Georgia Wareham

If T20I squad: Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Smriti Mandhana (vc), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Deepti Sharma, Sneh Rana, Yastika Bhatia, Shikha Pandey, Meghna Singh, Pooja Vastrakar, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Poonam Yadav, Richa Ghhat (wy) , Radha Yadav, Renuka Singh.

First ODI: Australia won by nine wickets

Second ODI: Australia won by five wickets

Third ODI: India won by two wickets

One-time test: Match drawn

Oct 7: No result

October 9: Australia won by four wickets

October 10: Third T20, Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.