Sat. May 28th, 2022

Christopher Mies will drive two Audis, which Garth Tander could otherwise sit behind the wheel of

Factory Audi Sport driver Christopher Mies will drive in both the Supercheap Auto TCR Australia and the Fanatec GT World Challenge Australia Powered by AWS in Bathurst next week.

The German’s task in the GT World Challenge will be to help Yasser Shahin win the offered best championship title, which is the Pro-Am class, in the fourth and final round of the campaign.

Mies takes over the berth in the # 777 R8 LMS GT3 Evo, usually filled by Garth Tander, who will seek to go back-to-back in the Repco Bathurst 1000 with Red Bull Ampol Racing’s Shane van Gisbergen alongside his TV assignments.

It’s another Audi that Tander has driven this year in Bathurst, which is the # 75 RS 3 LMS TCR that Mies will also be jumping into.

The 32-year-old is not only twice a winner of Bathurst 12 Hour, the official round record holder on Mount Panorama in an unlimited Audi R8 LMS GT3, a two-time Nurburgring 24 Hours winner and an Australian GT champion, but also helped develop an earlier version of the Audi TCR car.

“Bathurst is always special, and coming back after many years of not being in Australia, I’m really looking forward to it,” Mies said.

“Australia is my favorite country and racing is always a pleasure. I like Australian racing culture.

“It’s been a long time since I drove a TCR car. It was a few years back to develop the Gen 1 car.

Also, jumping back and forth in two different kinds of race cars is something I have not done in years, so do not judge me if I stop everyone in the first session!

“My main goal, of course, is to help Yasser [Shahin] win the championship and that’s what I want to do. From what I’ve heard, he’s a great guy and an even better racer.

“I can not wait to get this done for him and MPC. I have really missed these guys and I look forward to continuing our story together.”

He joins a high-profile Audi Sport Customer Racing Australia / Melbourne Performance Center stable, which after all will include Chaz Mostert and # 25 Bostik RS 3 in Supercheap Auto TCR Australia.

As first reported by, Mostert has entered the final round as he seeks to win the title, although it is believed that he will only have one race to do so before he has to focus fully on his Bathurst 1000 campaign with Walkinshaw Andretti Forenet.

In the unlikely event that he slips and opens the door wide enough for his rivals to pinch league honors, MPC Audi teammate Luke King is best placed to do so, albeit with 106 points in arrears.

These three Audis are part of a field of 18 cars for the TCR Bathurst 400, which also includes three other drivers who will also take part in the Great Race.

They are Michael Caruso (Team 18 / Garry Rogers Motorsport Alfa Romeo), James Moffat (Tickford Racing / GRM Renault) and Dylan O’Keeffe (Team Sydney / GRM Renault).

Moster’s co-driver at WAU, Lee Holdsworth, is a notable omission from the signing list after driving an Ashley Seward Motorsport Alfa Romeo in earlier rounds of the season.

The TCR round consists of three races of 21 laps, the second of which has a reverse top 10 on the grid based on the results of the previous meeting.

Action in that category starts on Tuesday, November 30 with two training sessions.

Registration list: Round 5, Mount Panorama Motor Racing Circuit

on a Team / sponsor Driver Car
2 MPC Moutai Racing Luke King Audi RS 3
5 Garry Rogers Motorsport Jordan Cox Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce
150 Valvoline Racing GRM Michael Caruso Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce
9 Melbourne Performance Center Jay Hanson Alfa Romeo Giulietta Veloce
11 HMO Customer Racing Nathan Morcom Hyundai i30N
14 Small Sector Lachlan Mineeff Volkswagen Golf GTI
17 Burson Auto Parts Racing Jason Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR
155 Team Valvoline GRM Aaron Cameron Peugeot 308 TCR
24 Mobile 1 Wall Racing John Martin Honda Civic Type R
25 MPC Bostik Racing Chaz Mostert Audi RS 3
30 HMO Customer Racing Josh Buchan Hyundai i30N
33 Lowbake Racing GRM Dylan O’Keeffe Renault Megane RS
34 LMCT + Racing GRM James Moffat Renault Megane RS
78 Small Sector Keegan brain Volkswagen Golf GTI
71 Burson Auto Parts Racing Ben Bargwanna Peugeot 308 TCR
75 Melbourne Performance Center Christopher Mies Audi RS 3
110 Team Soutar Zac Soutar Civic Type R
333 Tilton Racing Brad Shiels Hyundai i30N

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.