Thu. May 26th, 2022

This year’s Bathurst 1000 grille will feature 25 cars. Photo: Mark Horsburgh

This year’s Repco Bathurst 1000 is set to be one of the most exciting with only two driver lineups unchanged since 2020.

In this week’s Pirtek poll, we want to know who you think will win the Big Race on Sunday.

Last year’s winners Shane van Gisbergen and Garth Tander reunite in # 97 for their second campaign in a row together.

Van Gisbergen enters the season finale with a bit to lose. Having already won the drivers ‘championship and helped Triple Eight on their way to the teams’ championship, Kiwi will no doubt be eager to win the only other major title on the horizon.

Jamie Whincup and Craig Lowndes represent the only other unchanged pair this year in what could be their last together.

With Broc Feeney set to go full-time in 2022 and Whincup possibly in line to join him as his co-driver, that could mean the end of the road to the most successful mating on this year’s route network.

At the top of the city, the Shell V-Power Racing Team enters this year’s 161 notes with two strong driver lineups.

Do not give Anton De Pasquale a discount for the victory. After an up-and-down start to the season, the # 11 pilot has had a surge of speed lately, topping 22 of 32 sessions across the four-part Sydney turn.

He is joined by experienced boss Tony D’Alberto, who are both seeking their first Bathurst 1000 triumph.

On the other side of the garage in # 17, brothers Will Davison and Alex Davison team up for the fifth time at the Crown Jewel event.

The pair could become the first set of brothers to win 1,000 since Geoff Brabham and David Brabham in 1997.

Probably the strongest pairing at Tickford Racing is Cameron Waters and James Moffat in the # 6 Ford Mustang.

Waters was van Gisbergen’s closest opponent in the season opener Mount Panorama 500, although he encountered mechanical problems in one of the two races.

He also put it in pole position at last year’s Bathurst 1000 and finished second with Will Davison to the leading # 97 duo.

Walkinshaw Andretti United duo Chaz Mostert and Lee Holdsworth in # 25 join the race as one of the favorites.

Holdsworth is a steady hand and is only in his first year out of the category full time, while Mostert is one of the fastest on the net.

Brad Jones Racing frontman Nick Percat wants to end his term in the Albury outfit at a high level.

He and Dale Wood are a solid combination and should have # 8 solid inside the top 10 throughout.

Then there are Erebus Motorsport rookies by Will Brown and Brodie Kostecki, who will pair up with Jack Perkins and David Russell respectively.

The young guns have hit a purple spot lately and are serious competitors, so expect to see # 9 and # 99 near the front.

Of the dark horses, Kelly Grove Racing and Team 18 were able to provide a surprise.

Scott Pye and Mark Winterbottom both finished in the top 10 last year and this year will pair with James Golding and Michael Caruso respectively.

There’s only one wildcard on the net this year in the form of Russell Ingall and Broc Feeney, who will steer # 39 out of the Triple Eight Race Engineering stable.

Who is your choice to win the 2021 Bathurst 1000? Vote in the Pirtek poll below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.