Republicans Unveil First Draft New Missouri Congressional District | Politics

Jefferson County, which is currently divided into three congressional districts, will be completely within the 3rd congressional district, which is currently represented by the rep. Blaine Luetkemeyer, R-St. Elizabeth.

3. Congressional District Proposals

This image shows the Missouri Republicans’ proposal to redraw the 3rd Congressional District.

“I think with the size and population of Jefferson County, it does not deserve to be divided in three ways,” Shaul said.

The 3rd would also cover the eastern half of St. Charles County.

Support local journalism

Your membership makes our reporting possible.


And in the Kansas City area, the 5th Congressional District, held by Rep. Emanuel Cleaver, D-Kansas City, will become more compact under the new plan, as it will include most of Jackson County and part of Clay County, Shaul said.

He said the map was not drawn based on where the established representatives live, but that he understood that all current representatives would remain within their current congressional districts under the proposed plan.

Wagner, as No. 2, faced well-funded challengers in 2018 and 2020 in a district that had been attracted to Republicans.

Democrat Cort VanOstran came within 4 percentage points after defeating Wagner in 2018 despite the district’s GOP-prone composition.

The proposed map preserves the democratically sloping Boone County in the GOP-leaning 4th Congressional district, Shaul said.


Leave a Comment