Thu. May 26th, 2022

news, federal politics,

The Liberals in Canberra are ready to confirm their candidacy for the seat of Bean for the upcoming federal election, but still need to choose someone to take up the fight against Labor and the Greens in inner city. The party’s steering committee is expected to rubber-stamp Jane Hiatt as their candidate to challenge Labour’s David Smith in the Southern constituency when it meets Wednesday night. Liberal sources have told The Canberra Times that Mrs Hiatt was the only candidate to run for office. A local businesswoman, mother of four, volunteer and trail enthusiast, Mrs Hiatt ran for the Liberal Senate ticket in the 2016 federal election and as a candidate in the southern seat of Brindabella in the 2020 ACT election. She raised her hand to compete Bean for the Liberals at the 2019 federal election, but was beaten by Ed Cocks in a pre-selection contest. Labor is holding Bean by a margin of 7.5 percent, meaning Mrs Hiatt will face an extremely difficult task in breaking Mr Smith’s seat. Last year, the Liberals elected lawyer Nathan Kuster to contest Andrew Leigh’s seat in Fenner, north of Canberra. Kacey Lam-Evans has also been confirmed as Zed Seselja’s deputy on the Liberals’ Senate ticket. However, the Liberals have yet to find a candidate for Canberra’s headquarters, where the federal election is fast approaching. The election must take place no later than 21 May. The Liberal Party’s steering committee is expected to discuss the Canberra pre-selection process at Wednesday night’s meeting. There could be a pre-selection contest if several people nominate, with a meeting to select the candidate scheduled for Monday, February 7th. While any liberal candidate would be a rank outsider to win the seat, party insiders say the position presents a good profile building opportunity for anyone looking at a line-up for the 2024 ACT election. Labor’s Alicia Payne holds Canberra by a margin of 17 percent , making it one of the safest in the country in opposition. Mina Zaki stood for the Liberals in the vote in 2019. Ms Payne will once again face a challenge from the Greens’ Tim Hollo. Our journalists work hard to deliver local, up-to-date news to the community. Here’s how you can continue to access our trusted content:


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.